Everything you need to know about the Executive Order on Immigration

On Friday, Jan. 29 at 4:42 p.m., President Donald Trump gave an executive order temporarily restricting the immigration of people from 7 countries– Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia, Yemen, and Iraq– in the Middle East.

However, certain visa holders like diplomats are exempt from the order.

The order applies to both valid visa and green card holders.  Some passengers who were in mid-air when the order went into effect were either detained or sent back to where they came from.

There was a lot of confusion at first because Trump didn’t tell the Justice Department that he was going to make this order, so Homeland Security was unprepared to enforce it.  

Hundreds and hundreds of Americans showed up to protest the order on both Saturday and Sunday at international airports around the U.S.  Tons of people also protested in Washington, D.C. in front of Capitol Hill.  Many foreign leaders have also spoken out against the order including leaders from Great Britain, Germany, and Canada.  They have welcomed refugees and immigrants into their country.

On Saturday, lawsuits began coming in.  In response, a federal judge put a temporary stay on the ban and partially blocked Trump’s order.  

However, many people are still being detained and sent back to their countries.