LSU spoils Clemson’s hopes of defending title

Hunter Junazski, Staff Writer

On Monday night, the 2019-2020 college football season came to an end when two unbeaten teams, the Clemson Tiger and LSU Tigers, met in the National Championship.

Clemson looked to defend its title from the previous year where they destroyed the Alabama Crimson Tide 44-16.

Now coming off a win over an undefeated Ohio State Buckeyes in the Playstation Fiesta Bowl, Clemson faced its biggest test of the season, the LSU Tigers.

LSU was coming off one of the toughest schedules in college football where they showed their dominance and won every game and now faced a top-notch Clemson team in their first college football playoff appearance.

At the end of the night, it was all LSU, who walked away with the National Championship after a 42-25 win.

The game started off with each team exchanging punts as Clemson got onto LSU’s side of the 50-yard line and pinned LSU inside the 10 each time with their punts.

Now after another LSU punt, Clemson had good field position and capitalized. A long pass set up Clemson in the red zone where Trevor Lawrence then took it himself from the goal line into the endzone to get Clemson a 7-0 lead.

Now towards the end of the first quarter, the teams each exchanged a couple of punts until Joe Burrow connected on a deep ball to Ja’Marr Chase to tie the game at 7 for LSU.

As the second quarter started, Clemson found themselves in LSU territory where a couple of incomplete passes lead to a 52-yard field for the Tigers by B.T Potter.

LSU got the ball back and a few mishaps forced them to punt the ball back to Clemson.

Clemson now started to drive, and a few long runs by Travis Etienne lead to an end-around handoff to Tee Higgins who ran it in the endzone to give the Clemson Tigers a 17-7 lead.

LSU then answered with a quick drive capped off by a 3-yard touchdown run by Joe Burrow.

Clemson then gained possession again, but a couple of incomplete passes gave LSU the ball back in their own territory.

Joe Burrow then led his team down the field once again and eventually threw a 14-yard touchdown to Ja’Marr Chase. LSU then took a 21-17 lead.

Clemson once again was stumped with the ball and was forced to punt.

LSU, now leading, with a long drive down the field, got into the red zone once again. Then a pass to Thaddeus Moss gave LSU a 28-17 lead right as the half ended.

As the second half started, each team exchanged punts and Clemson came out hot on offense. A quick drive down the field was capped off by a 3-yard touchdown by Travis Etienne.

Then the game stalled a bit until LSU got a drive going, and a throw to Thaddeus Moss gave them a 35-25 lead. Clemson wasn’t able to capitalize on a couple of drives and was in need of a comeback at this point in the game.

The fourth quarter started with a bang. Joe Burrow lead his Tigers down the field and into the endzone to seal the game for the Tigers. LSU would take a 42-25 lead to finish the game and win their first college football playoff championship in school history.

Ed Orgeron and his team will go down in history for their perfect season.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email